Google+  
 

Small Bug is making me mad

Subscribe to this topic Low Bandwidth Favourite Forums
Search this topic:

Displaying Page 1 of 1. | Go To Page:
Down to Quick Reply

Post ID: 3110986 Posted at: 07-May-2012 21:15:21
hatershateme
Mr. Forum Games!
Member
Joined: 3 Sep 2008
Posts: 15,990
Post Likes: 2
+
Everytime I am on Supercheats, and want to scroll down. Then 3 seconds later, something happens and It scolls back up to what I was looking at previously before I scrolled down.

OS: Windows 7 Starter
Browser: Google Chrome

Happens to me everywhere on the site.

Sig and Avy: .Impact
sphynxx said:Step aside people, Mr. forum games coming through. ;)

0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111394 Posted at: 09-May-2012 17:28:52
Yogi_Bear
Member
Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 2,113
Post Likes: 0
+
How are you scrolling? Scroll bar on the right, the arrows, pg up/down, scroll wheel? Is it only happening on Supercheats?
Thanks Craizen

Proc^^
++Pixel Euphoria
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111410 Posted at: 09-May-2012 18:09:19
balthiersbit
Dinosaurs need hugs too!
Member
Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 8,812
Post Likes: 5
+
That used to happen with me when I used Firefox but it only happened on PXE.

Thanx to .Impact for making me dino! Thanks hubbeh for the avi.
Hotmail: nikkihardyathotmaildotcom.
Vasco said:Rich only promoted Nikki to have a female Super-Moderator. Just so women couldn't complain.

PXE<33
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111508 Posted at: 09-May-2012 22:34:40
TestVirus101
Ah crap he's finally dead
Member
Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 15,074
Post Likes: 18
+
I've never had that happen with Firefox and Windows 7. Usually the first time I load SC each time I start my computer it tends to freeze my computer for a few seconds though.

As for your problem though, does it just do it once or does it do it to the point that you can't scroll down in threads because you keep getting taken back to the top?
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111705 Posted at: 10-May-2012 20:36:23
hatershateme
Mr. Forum Games!
Member
Joined: 3 Sep 2008
Posts: 15,990
Post Likes: 2
+
Yogi_Bear said:How are you scrolling? Scroll bar on the right, the arrows, pg up/down, scroll wheel? Is it only happening on Supercheats?

The scroll Bar on the right
TestVirus101 said:I've never had that happen with Firefox and Windows 7. Usually the first time I load SC each time I start my computer it tends to freeze my computer for a few seconds though.

As for your problem though, does it just do it once or does it do it to the point that you can't scroll down in threads because you keep getting taken back to the top?

It does it when I scroll, everytime. I can get down the page, but it goes back up. Then I have to scroll back down

-Does that make sense ?

Sig and Avy: .Impact
sphynxx said:Step aside people, Mr. forum games coming through. ;)

0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111708 Posted at: 10-May-2012 20:42:40
Forgoten_Scars
Orbis terrarum est mei
Member
Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 14,677
Post Likes: 9
+
TestVirus101 said:Usually the first time I load SC each time I start my computer it tends to freeze my computer for a few seconds though.

That would be because of this line of code.

@font-face {
font-family: 'MEgalopolisExtraRegular';
src: url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.eot');
src: local('MEgalopolis Extra Regular'), local('MEgalopolisExtra'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.woff') format('woff'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.otf') format('opentype'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.svg#MEgalopolisExtra') format('svg');
}

You ever notice that fat looking font on the main site? That's MEgalopolis. It freezes because SC is transferring the font file to your computer and applying it to your temporary data so you can see the font.
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111710 Posted at: 10-May-2012 20:45:57
TestVirus101
Ah crap he's finally dead
Member
Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 15,074
Post Likes: 18
+
Forgoten_Scars said:
TestVirus101 said:Usually the first time I load SC each time I start my computer it tends to freeze my computer for a few seconds though.

That would be because of this line of code.

@font-face {
font-family: 'MEgalopolisExtraRegular';
src: url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.eot');
src: local('MEgalopolis Extra Regular'), local('MEgalopolisExtra'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.woff') format('woff'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.otf') format('opentype'), url('fonts/MEgalopolisExtra.svg#MEgalopolisExtra') format('svg');
}

You ever notice that fat looking font on the main site? That's MEgalopolis. It freezes because SC is transferring the font file to your computer and applying it to your temporary data so you can see the font.


Is there a way I can permanently store this on my computer so it doesn't need to send me it?
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3111711 Posted at: 10-May-2012 20:51:00
Forgoten_Scars
Orbis terrarum est mei
Member
Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 14,677
Post Likes: 9
+
Don't know. I have it installed on my computer so I can make artwork for SC... but I can't remember if it still freezes for me or not. I don't think you can get around it without asking Rich to strip the line of code from the CSS.
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3112045 Posted at: 11-May-2012 23:32:59
Jay_Dee
Member
Joined: 11 Feb 2012
Posts: 1,078
Post Likes: 10
+
Firefox will do this occasionally for me, too, though it hasn't happened on this site.
To me, it seems like it'll jump back to the top of the page if I started scrolling down before a page finished loading. So, when the page has just fully loaded, it'll jump back to the top. That's as close of a solution as I can think for you - just wait until the page is loaded.
Though I'm not sure if I fully understand your problem - does it continually go back up to the top, or just one time on each page?

Pollo said:You ever notice that fat looking font on the main site? That's MEgalopolis. It freezes because SC is transferring the font file to your computer and applying it to your temporary data so you can see the font.

Gotta love it when one of the basic rules of web design is broken - don't use non-defaulted fonts.

TestVirus101 said:Is there a way I can permanently store this on my computer so it doesn't need to send me it?

If you install the font onto your computer, it shouldn't freeze up anymore.
http://www.smeltery.net/fonts/megalopolis-extra
There's a download link near the bottom of the right column. Some 'OpenType' box will pop up after you click 'Download.' Click that box again to start the download of the '.zip'
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3112046 Posted at: 11-May-2012 23:44:00
TestVirus101
Ah crap he's finally dead
Member
Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 15,074
Post Likes: 18
+
Jay_Dee said:Firefox will do this occasionally for me, too, though it hasn't happened on this site.
To me, it seems like it'll jump back to the top of the page if I started scrolling down before a page finished loading. So, when the page has just fully loaded, it'll jump back to the top. That's as close of a solution as I can think for you - just wait until the page is loaded.
Though I'm not sure if I fully understand your problem - does it continually go back up to the top, or just one time on each page?

Pollo said:You ever notice that fat looking font on the main site? That's MEgalopolis. It freezes because SC is transferring the font file to your computer and applying it to your temporary data so you can see the font.

Gotta love it when one of the basic rules of web design is broken - don't use non-defaulted fonts.

TestVirus101 said:Is there a way I can permanently store this on my computer so it doesn't need to send me it?

If you install the font onto your computer, it shouldn't freeze up anymore.
http://www.smeltery.net/fonts/megalopolis-extra
There's a download link near the bottom of the right column. Some 'OpenType' box will pop up after you click 'Download.' Click that box again to start the download of the '.zip'


Thanks, I've installed it, hopefully this should fix my problem.
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Post ID: 3112049 Posted at: 11-May-2012 23:56:27
Jay_Dee
Member
Joined: 11 Feb 2012
Posts: 1,078
Post Likes: 10
+
It should, though I won't guarantee it.
I can't see a reason why it wouldn't though, considering the browser will no longer have to dedicate resources to allowing you to see the font.
The big thing, I suppose, would be if the downloaded font is a different version than what the site uses, but I don't think that should do anything.
I guess we'll see.
0
+
Reply Add Quote and ReplyMulti Quote
Displaying Page 1 of 1. | Go To Page:

Subscribe to this topic Low Bandwidth Favourite Forums
Search this topic:

Currently viewing this thread:
REPLY IN THIS THREAD
Smilies, click to use

By posting on the SuperCheats forums, you agree to adhere to our forum rules.


BB Codes Guide

Please agree to the following Forum Rules to post here

1) Be respectful of others and don't abuse in any way other site users.
2) Please don't post personally identifiable information.
3) No linking to or advertising hacks, cracks, gambling or adult material.
4) Post with a purpose, i.e don't spam or just post a ton of smilies!
5) Remember minors also use this board, so be careful with your language.

I Agree