Google+  
 

Fake Anti-Spyware

Subscribe to this topic Low Bandwidth Favourite Forums
Search this topic:

Displaying Page 1 of 1. | Go To Page:
Down to Quick Reply

Post ID: 2296172 Posted at: 24-Jun-2008 10:28:30
D34th5trike
Member
Joined: 12 Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Post Likes: 0
+
Alright, there's this program called "Antivirus XP 2008" and my desktop background says,"Warning! Spyware detected on your computer! Install an antivirus or spyware remover to clean you computer". I make it a different background and when I restart it it's back there again. Now I try to uninstall the program, but it's still there. I have McAfee Security Center and there's nothing about spyware while I was scanning the computer. What can I use to remove this fake Antivirus?
0
+
Post ID: 2299449 Posted at: 26-Jun-2008 16:25:30
cheating-is-good
Member
Joined: 5 Sep 2007
Posts: 21,305
Post Likes: 0
+
Did you, by any chance try to install a media codec?

Download a program called Smitfraudfix and run that in safe mode. Also, get Avast and run a boot scan, or AVG. McAfee sucks in my opinion.
Great, I'm moving. Who knows when you'll see me again.
0
+
Post ID: 2299709 Posted at: 26-Jun-2008 20:41:12
v-gamer
y so srs?
Member
Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 18,375
Post Likes: 1
+
Go to Start > Search. In the search box, type in "C:/program files"

Search for the file which contains all the files for that Anti Spyware, and delete it.

If that doesn't work, and it's absolutely necessary to get rid of it, delete everything on your computer and start over.

But if there are no spywares or viruses, then I don't think you really have to worry about this spyware on your computer.


[I know what you mean, by the way; that always happened when I ghosted (or simply put my computer back to a past date) my computer and started all over. These spywares ads go away in about a week.]
Avatar: In memory of ieatwyverns <3


Thank you, Vasco <3
0
+
Post ID: 2300310 Posted at: 27-Jun-2008 12:49:37
Youkou
C:\Program Files
Member
Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 9,109
Post Likes: 0
+
Just do a System Restore to the point you didn't had it yet...

Will solve the prob most of the time.
0
+
Post ID: 2320694 Posted at: 10-Jul-2008 02:40:04
DeadWing
Member
Joined: 4 Jul 2008
Posts: 2,776
Post Likes: 0
+
I agree with Youkou, a system restore should fix the problem. Just cycle through the dates and the files until you see the description that says something like "restores your computer to the point before this program was installed". Hopefully, it works.
Go read a different signature.
0
+
Post ID: 2389955 Posted at: 20-Aug-2008 16:44:01
sissy0606
Member
Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Post Likes: 0
+
ok lission to me you got vertimundo and it is NOT good you HAVE to reload your computer do not bother with system restore which will work with little problem but not this oh and DONT ignore it if you do it will get so bad that your computer will STOP TURNING ON! if you do try to use system restore it will not work because it saves its self to your system restore files IT WILL NOT COME OFF!

if you are going to reload your computer your self make sure to instale all drivers and pre install your antivirus and other programs on a diffrent computer and transfer to yours

if you get it reloaded by a tech make sure they instale drivers and antivirus at least

TIP if you get on the internet with out antivirus you will get infected

IF YOUR COMPUTER IS ASKING FOR MONEY TO REMOVE THE VIRUS DONT THE PEOPLE THAT ARE ASKING FOR THE MONEY ARE THE PEOPLE THAT GAVE YOU THE VIRUS I REPEAT DO NOT PAY THEM!

[color=red]SCBF: crazyjoey^_^
0
+
Displaying Page 1 of 1. | Go To Page:

Subscribe to this topic Low Bandwidth Favourite Forums
Search this topic:

Currently viewing this thread:
This topic has been closed by Sir Knight

LINKS FROM THE WEB..