Your Account
       Forgot Password

Not registered? Sign Up for free
    Registration allows you to keep track of all your content and comments, save bookmarks, and post in all our forums.

Advice for a guitarist?

Moderators for this forum: sphynxx
Subscribe to topic Low Bandwidth

Down to Quick Reply
Displaying Page 1 of 1

ratchet7777 Posted: 20:31 Apr04 2010 Post ID: 2824433
ratchet7777
Post Likes: 0
+
I've been playing guitar for almost 3 years now and I'm facing a problem. I love playing all kinds of metal and songs from bands like Metallica, Iron Maiden, and Disturbed, but I have NEVER written a song of my own. I can't even come up with my own riff. I can flawlessly play and cover many songs and play both lead and rhythm guitar, but I can't create anything of my own. I'm not the kind of person who would like to take lessons either. Does anybody have advice for me? I'm in a band and there's increasing pressure for me to write my own stuff.
[insert epic sig here]
Reply Quote & ReplyMulti Quote
Repner Posted: 22:45 Apr04 2010 Post ID: 2824486
Repner
+
I can get writers block as well. Quite a lot actually, so it's perfectly natural. Well I suppose one way to come up with something would be to play some basic chord progressions to start with. Then maybe once you have that down, and record it (if you can), then you can try playing some melodies, or single note patterns over the top of that. It'll seem more natural. Over time it might change completely

Actually, when it comes to riffs, the odd thing about me is I can only seem to come up with them at night! No idea why.

Question: Do you learn songs by using tab? Is so, it might be worth your while to try to learn some songs by playing them by ear. It'll be hard at first if you're not used to it, but over time your ear will develop, and it'll be easier to get ideas down when they come to your head
Austinanymous Posted: 01:06 Apr05 2010 Post ID: 2824507
Austinanymous
+